Is it better to watch movies on your computer/T.V. or in the theatre?

A few months ago, I went to a theatre to watch Interstellar and I thought it was a masterpiece (damn all you naysayers!). However, I was constantly tugged out of the experience by people clapping or whistling or shouting at the screen (what’s the point of that anyway?). So this got me thinking, would it have been a better experience if I’d watched it on my computer?

Ughh! Don't we all hate this?
Ughh! Don’t we all hate this?

Well, the first thing that comes to my mind is that you’re going to have to wait a while if you’re going to watch it on your computer. Personally, I don’t mind the wait if it means I’ll have the “complete package” –

  • comfort of my sofa and the freedom to hog the armrest,
  • peace and quiet (unless it’s me doing the shouting),
  • the ability to pause the movie (tell me how many times have you wished that the guys in the theatre would pause the movie for just a moment so that you can take that important phone call or a quick trip to the loo? Too many times.)
  • the freedom to watch the movie at whatever hour suits me and not having to rely on theatre timings.

However, you do lose out on that humongous screen and that crisp sound of a theatre. If one were to recreate that in one’s living room, one would have to be pretty damn rich! Now, I don’t know about you, but I can’t afford that. Well, for the screen, my solution is to stream the content to my t.v. and for the sound, I put on a pair of 7.1 Surround Sound Headphones. Problem solved! Also, popcorn at home is a lot cheaper and so is the Coke. And you don’t have to wait in a queue to get it, unless you’ve got a whole bunch of people watching the movie with you who also want it.

So then why do people go the theatre to watch movies? I believe it’s just force of habit. We’ve become so accustomed to it that doing it any other way just feels wrong just like reading an e-book instead of the real thing seems stupid to me. The truth is that it’s just an all-round better package at home than it is at the theatre and the sooner we realize it the better.

Even Darth Vader agrees.
Even Darth Vader agrees.
Leave a Reply

